Thumbnail Sketches – Release Notes

Rude Note Album RNA 001 – Jim Mullen  – “Thumbnail Sketches” – Released September 2011 via iTunes

Album cover for Jim Mullen's Thumbnail Sketches

Cover painting by Norma Ricketts – cover layout by Aurora Colson

“Thumbnail Sketches” is the first and only album of solo jazz guitar pieces by Jim Mullen.

Mike Collins explains how the album came to be recorded: “I first met Jim at a Morrissey Mullen gig in the early 80′s and was a ‘nodding acquaintance’ until I saw him playing guitar with Jimmy Smith at the Jazz Cafe in the spring of 1999. He played two or three solo jazz guitar pieces in the break between Jimmy Smith’s sets and after the gig I asked him if he would teach me how to play ‘Danny Boy’, one of my Dad’s favourite tunes, in solo jazz guitar style. The following week Jim turned up at my flat, guitar in hand, and showed me the tune. He explained that he did not regard himself as a teacher, even though he made a great job of teaching me this tune, but he noticed that I had a well-equipped recording studio setup. So the idea was born that I would record him playing a few solo pieces to listen to and learn from – and this grew into a series of sessions which we decided to develop as a complete album.”

Track Listing:

I Can’t Get Started (Vernon Duke, Ira Gershwin)

The Nearness Of You (Hoagy Carmichael, Ned Washington)

Cinema Paradiso Love Theme (Ennio and Andrea Morricone)

In A Sentimental Mood (Duke Ellington, Irving Mills, Manny Kurtz)

My Ship (Kurt Weill, Ira Gershwin)

Just In Time (Jule Stein, Betty Comden, Adolph Green)

Love Me Tender (Elvis Presley, Vera Matson)

Sister Sadie (Horace Silver)

I’m A Fool To Want You (Woolf, Herron, Sinatra)

Some Other Time (Bernstein, Condon, Green)

Don’t Blame Me (Dorothy Fields)

Estate (B. Martino, B. Brighetti)

Witchcraft (Carolyn Leigh, Cy Coleman)

Blue In Green (Miles Davis, Bill Evans)

Sweet Lorraine (Mitchell Parish, Cliff Burwell)

When you wish upon a star (Washington, Harline)

Give A Little Whistle (Washington, Harline)

Lucky to be me (Betty Comden, Adolph Green, Leonard Bernstein)

Violets for your furs (Tom Adair, Matt Dennis)

Skylark (Johnny Mercer, Hoagy Carmichael)

The Drinking Song

Women Of Ireland (Seán Ó Riada)/Carrickfergus Variations (Traditional arr. Jim Mullen)

My love is like a red, red, rose (Robert Burns: Traditional arr. Jim Mullen)

Danny Boy [Londonderry Air] (Traditional arr. Jim Mullen)

[Lyrics for the song Danny Boy were written by an English lawyer, Frederic Weatherly, in 1910 and fitted to the Londonderry Air melody in 1913. It was first recorded by Austrian contralto Ernestine Schumann-Heink in 1915 for Victor recordings in the US.]


About rudenoterecords

Rude Note Records is a 'boutique' record label operated by Mike Collins - a music producer, recording engineer, studio musician and song co-writer who creates pop, folk, blues, soul and jazz music.
This entry was posted in New Info. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s